The Cricketer of the Year (for the third time running)



BALLINA Bears all-rounder Sam Adams has taken out the Far North Coast LJ Hooker League Cricketer of the Year award for the third consecutive season.

The premiership eluded Adams when his side lost its semi-final against Tintenbar-East Ballina at Fripp Oval last month.

UNIQUE TREBLE: Ballilna Bears all-rounder Sam Adams, who has won the LJ Hooker League Cricketer of the Year award for a third straight season.
UNIQUE TREBLE: Ballilna Bears all-rounder Sam Adams, who has won the LJ Hooker League Cricketer of the Year award for a third straight season. Mireille Merlet-Shaw

Tintenbar-East Ballina all-rounder Brett Crawford, a former NSW Country representative, has won the award four times but never back-to-back.

Bruce Jobson (Eastern Districts), Paul McLean (Southern Districts) and Al Nowlan (Casino Cavaliers) have each won or shared the award twice.

"If we'd got to win that title it would have made it the perfect year for me," Adams said.

"I'd rather win a competition than individual awards and we were sitting well enough to win it."

Bears finished joint premiers with the Casino Cavaliers in 2011-2012 when the final was abandoned because of persistent rain and the state of the wicket.

They have made the semi-finals every season since 2008-2009 when they beat the Cavaliers in the final.

The consistency of Adams has helped keep them in the mix with his uncanny ability to perform well with the bat and ball most weeks.

Adams, 27, scored 342 runs and took 44 wickets this season.

He made three half centuries and took 8-22 in a 14.1-over spell against Lennox Head during the competition rounds.

Adams also had a six-wicket haul in an outright win over Murwillumbah.

"I took a stack of wickets this year and I thought that would put me in the mix (for player of the year)," he said.

"Guys like Ben Carruthers and Brad Robertson were pretty consistent for us this season too.

"Greg Potter had a big year for Alstonville and he could easily have taken it out."

Adams captained the side for two seasons before handing over to Toby Hordern this season.

He doesn't believe there was less pressure on him after giving up the captaincy.

"More often than not the award goes to an all-rounder," Adams said.

"It was definitely a surprise though and anyone that made the team of the year could have got it.

"I have no plans to go anywhere and it's always something to aim for again next season."


2012-13 Sam Adams (Bears)

2011-12 Sam Adams (Bears)

2010-11 Sam Adams (Bears)

2009-10 Jack Boote (Sth Tweed)

2008-09 Jason Caught (Workers)

2007-08 Brett Crawford (T-EB)

2006-07 Paul McLean (Souths)

2005-06 Brett Crawford (T-EB)

2004-05 Bruce Jobson (Easts), Paul McLean (Souths)

2003-04 Brett Crawford (T-EB)

2002-03 Phil Alley (T-EB), Michael Nind (Souths)

2001-02 Al Nowlan (Easts)

2000-01 Mark Bratti (Casino Cavaliers)

A profitable partnership

A profitable partnership

East Ballina Lions and Ballina Fair partner to support farmers

Keeping the heart beating

Keeping the heart beating

Bike ride to raise AED awareness

Skatefest going ahead

Skatefest going ahead

Fair Go Skatefest to run again this year

Local Partners