Northern Rivers surfers making a name on the waves

Stuart Kennedy of Australia won heat 10 of Round Two
Stuart Kennedy of Australia won heat 10 of Round Two Kelly Cestari

STUART Kennedy looked in good touch at the Quicksilver Pro held at Snapper Rocks in the earlier rounds particularly when he defeated Ethan Ewing in round two.  Kennedy unleashed one of the moves of the competition with a high speed grab rail nose pick that he did almost inside the barrel and with full control flowed out of it straight into a series of lip hits and scored an excellent 9.1 from the judging panel.  Despite that performance Kennedy was unable to find the high scoring waves in his Round 3 match-up against former world champion Adriano De Souza and Stu finished in equal 13th place to start off his second year on the Championship Tour.  Owen Wright completed a fairytale comeback from a near death brain injury to win the Quicksilver pro title over good friend Matt Wilkinson in the final while the Aussie charge continued with six-time WSL Champion Stephanie Gilmore claiming her sixth Roxy Pro title today after defeating Lakey Peterson in the final of the Roxy Pro. 

The Lennox Longboarders held their club round in pristine autumn conditions with off shore winds at Lennox Beach, the standout for this round was young Tim Leete, winning the Firsts final in quality waves.  Thanks goes to George Leslie and Grant Ryan (Comp Coordinators) and the Catering BBQ, from Will Petrie.Vouchers won from our 2 club sponsors, New to 2017 Coastal Cafe Lennox Head, Voucher winner Grant Ryan and Lennox Surf Voucher to Greg Gover.  Results are: 1st's: 1 Tim Leete, 2 Chris Cann, 3 Aaron Cooper-Smith, 4 Greg Gover, 5 Peter Regan. 2nd's: 1 John Eddy, 2 James Foster, 3 Will Petrie, 4 Wayne Booth, 5 Geoff Mitchell.  3rd's: 1 Nathan Mackenzie, 2 Grant Ryan, 3 Dennis Baker, 4 Andrew Thomas, 5 Terry Kay. 4th's: 1 Rob Rye, 2 Jim Baker, 3 Roz Brown, 4 Mal Lewis, 5 Eleanor Robertson, 6 Nick Mitchell.  5th's: 1 Gary Alford, 2 Peter Briggs, 3.Emily Simmonds, 4 Bob Mills, 5 Meg Smith, 6 Adelle Purbrick.  New members are always welcome, see  for details.

Ballina Malibu Club held the March competition round at Flat Rock. An unusually small number of dedicated club members took on the challenging surf. No place for the faint hearted with overhead sets and heaps of water pushing over the reef with the incoming tide. Thanks to Bob and Kim, the members enjoyed a tasty meal and a few cold beers. The sponsor raffles were drawn and the winners were: Malibu Burgers - Mick Calnan, Coast@Lennox Cafe- Bruce Wilson.  The final results were:  Firsts:1 Steve Watts, 2 Geoff Rees, 3 Mick Calnan. Seconds:1 Ed Riordan, 2 Bryan Fryer, 3.Chris Bull. Thirds:1 Paul Bioletti, 2 Bob Wilcox, 3 Kim Kortick. Fourths:1 Bill Webster, 2 Bruce Wilson, 3.Jan Webster.  As always new members are welcome, see for details.

Topics:  northern rivers surfing owen wright quicksilver pro snapper rocks stephanie gilmore surfing

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

PHOTOS: Meet our kindy students

Newrybar Public School

My First Year commemorates the start of school for kinders

Johnny Cash tribute will take you back to Folsom Prison

COUNTRY: Singer Daniel Thompson as Johnny Cash.

Johnny Cash The Concert Revisits Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison

Local Partners