Mitchell and Cotchin awarded 2012 Brownlow

Trent Cotchin of the Tigers on the ball.
Trent Cotchin of the Tigers on the ball. JULIAN SMITH

RICHMOND'S Trent Cotchin and former Hawk Sam Mitchell are now Brownlow Medallists.

The pair was awarded the AFL's best and fairest honours for 2012 after original winner Jobe Watson opted to hand the medal back in the wake of Essendon's supplements scandal.

Cotchin and Mitchell, who joined West Coast last month, were joint runners-up to Watson in the 2012 medal count.

Watson returned his medal last Friday and the AFL Commission decided on Tuesday to award it to the duo.

The 26-year-old Cotchin is the first Tiger to win the award since Ian Stewart (1971), while Shane Crawford (1999) was the last Hawk before Mitchell to claim the honour.

"Sam and Trent are deserving Brownlow Medallists because of the quality of their play in 2012. The Commission wishes to pass on the best wishes of the entire football community,” AFL Commission chairman Mike Fitzpatrick said.

Sam Mitchell in action for the Hawks.
Sam Mitchell in action for the Hawks. JULIAN SMITH

League chief executive Gillon McLachlan said that while Cotchin and Mitchell appreciated the significance of the occasion, they also felt for Watson.

"I think they had mixed emotions,” McLachlan said.

Topics:  asada brownlow medal essendon bombers gillon mclachlan jobe watson sam mitchell supplements

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Snitz sizzles to win qualifier with ease

IN FULL FLIGHT: Brisbane jockey Robbie Fradd streaks clear to win the $150,000 NRRA Country Championships qualifier on board Snitz, trained by Matt Dunn, at Clarence River Jockey Club.

SHORT priced favourite sends everybody home happy.

Ballina Players brings popular military drama to the stage

ON STAGE: John Rado as Colonel Nathan Jessep and Dylan Wheeler as Lt Daniel Kaffee in the Ballina Players production of A Few Good Men.

Tickets are on sale for their new production of A Few Good Men

Triumph of dreams ... it all started with one bike

A CLASSIC: Meerschaum Vale's Col McAndrew with his Triumph 1956 Speed Twin which he will show at the Northern Rivers Classic Motorcycle Club's Show and Shine at Alstonville Plaza on March 18.

Col has six classic bikes; 100 expected at show

Local Partners