Confirmed: Wallabies won against Scotland on wrong call

REFEREE Craig Joubert's controversial decision to award a penalty to Australia in the dying stages of yesterday's World Cup quarter-final against Scotland has been ruled incorrect by the World Rugby match official selection committee.

The selection committee confirmed overnight that Joubert was wrong to penalise Scotland's Jon Welsh for offside in the 78th minute of the Twickenham clash, after he had played the ball following a knock-on by a team-mate, and a scrum would have been the correct decision.

Joubert should have awarded a scrum feed to Australia instead of granting Wallabies five-eighth Bernard Foley the opportunity to kick a match-winning penalty goal.

A statement from World Rugby clarified that a review of all angles of the incident made clear that after the knock-on, the ball was touched by Australia's Nick Phipps and Law 11.3(c) states that a player can be put on-side by an opponent who intentionally plays the ball.

"It is important to clarify that, under the protocols, the referee could not refer to the television match official in this case and therefore had to rely on what he saw in real time," the statement said.

Read more at the NZ Herald


EASY GUIDE: How to get your tickets for Splendour 2018

EASY GUIDE: How to get your tickets for Splendour 2018

Line-up has been revealed, now it's time to get ready for festival

The new rules you need to know if you use e-cigarettes

The new rules you need to know if you use e-cigarettes

The Health Minister has announced new regulations

IN DEMAND: Second screening for Simon Baker film

IN DEMAND: Second screening for Simon Baker film

Ballina Fair Cinema will host another screening of Breath

Local Partners