Ablett closing in on top spot

Aap Images

AFL: Dynamic Gold Coast captain Gary Ablett is almost certain to finish his career as the highest Brownlow Medal vote-getter of all time.

Ablett polled 28 votes to win his second 'Charlie' on Monday night, ahead of former teammate and now Geelong captain Joel Selwood (27) and Collingwood's Dane Swan (26).

Ablett took his career total to 187 in his 12 seasons with the Cats and Suns, jumping ahead of big names such as three-time winner Bobby Skilton and other winners Simon Black (2002) and Nathan Buckley (2003).

The only present-day player ahead of him is Carlton's Chris Judd, who polled just five votes to move to 202, and in equal third place with legend Leigh Matthews.

Leading the way is former Footscray and North Melbourne great Gary Dempsey who polled 246 votes in his 329-game career, winning one Brownlow Medal in 1975.

Second on the all-time list is former St Kilda star Robert Harvey (215), who claimed back-to-back medals in 1997 and 1998.

While Ablett's win took his career to a new high, Melbourne sunk to a new low - its total of 16 votes was the least in the club's history.

Topics:  afl brownlow medal gary ablett gold coast suns

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

How to stop Facebook from grabbing your data

How Facebook can grab your data, and what to do to stop it

UPDATE: Jockey remains in ICU at Coffs Harbour

INJURED: Jockey Kirk Matheson was injured in a fall during racing at Clarence Valley Jockey Club.

Injured jockey Kirk Matheson rushed into surgery.

PHOTOS: Meet our kindy students

Newrybar Public School

My First Year commemorates the start of school for kinders

Local Partners